2021 Newcastle Poetry Prize

$25,000 Prize Pool

and the opportunity to be published in the 2021 anthology


Sponsored by

University of Newcastle Logo
NPP Anthology 2018 Buying Online book cover
NPP 2019 book cover for Soft Serve
1st Prize: 

2nd Prize: 

3rd Prize: 

2 x Commended Awards: 

Local Award: 

Harri Jones Prize
for a poet under 36 years 


Click to view winners of 2020
Cover of 2020 Newcastle Poetry Prize anthology
The Crows in Town 2017 Book Cover NPP

2021 Judges

Toby Fitch, poet

Toby Fitch

Toby Fitch is poetry editor of Overland, editor/curator at large for Australian Poetry, a sessional academic in creative writing at the University of Sydney, and the director of AVANT GAGA and the Poetry Night at Sappho Books. His poetry has received numerous awards, including the Grace Leven Prize for Poetry in 2012 for his book Rawshock and the Charles Rischbieth Jury Poetry Prize 2020 for his poem ‘Sparkling Anxiety’. He is the author of seven books of poetry, including Where Only the Sky had Hung Before and, forthcoming with Giramondo in 2021, Sydney Spleen. Read sample works by Toby Fitch here.

Jill Jones, poet, judge of the Newcastle Poetry Prize 2021

Jill Jones

Jill Jones’ most recent books include Wild Curious Air, A History Of What I’ll Become, and Viva the Real, which was shortlisted for the 2019 Prime Minister’s Literary Awards for Poetry and the 2020 John Bray Award. In 2015 she won the Victorian Premier’s Prize for Poetry for The Beautiful Anxiety. Her work has been published widely in Australia and internationally, and is represented in a number of major anthologies including The Macquarie PEN Anthology of Australian Literature, The Anthology of Australian Prose Poetry, Contemporary Australian Poetry, and The Penguin Anthology of Australian Poetry. She has worked as a book editor, journalist, and film reviewer. For seven years she was Program Manager for the Literature Board of the Australia Council for the Arts. She currently teaches at the University of Adelaide, where she is a member of the J.M. Coetzee Centre for Creative Practice.