University of Newcastle Logo

Newcastle Poetry Prize 2022

$25,000 Prize Pool

and the opportunity to be published in the 2022 anthology

Closes 10pm AEST, Monday 27th June, 2022

NPP 2021 anthology
NPP 2019 book cover for Soft Serve
1st Prize: 

2nd Prize: 

3rd Prize: 

2 x Commended Awards: 

Local Award: 

Harri Jones Prize
for a poet under 36 years 


Click to view winners of 2021
Read the history of the prize
Cover of 2020 Newcastle Poetry Prize anthology
NPP Anthology 2018 Buying Online book cover

2022 Judges

Aidan Coleman

Aidan Coleman

Aidan Coleman has published three collections of poetry, most recently Mount Sumptuous (Wakefield Press, 2020). His books have been shortlisted for the NSW Premier’s Kenneth Slessor Award, the John Bray Poetry Award and the WA Premier’s Book Awards.

          Aidan is currently completing a biography Thin Ice: A Life of John Forbes that will be published by Melbourne University Publishing. He is an Early Career Researcher at the J.M. Coetzee Centre for Creative Practice at the University of Adelaide.

aison whittaker

Alison Whittaker

Alison Whittaker is a Gomeroi poet and essayist. She is Senior Researcher at the Jumbunna Institute. Her second collection, BLAKWORK, received the QLA Judith Wright Calanthe Award for a Poetry Collection.
Between 2017-2018, she was a Fulbright scholar at Harvard Law School, where she was named the Dean’s Scholar in Race, Gender and Criminal Law.
           Prior to this, Alison worked at UTS:CAIK, UTS:Law, the Gendered Violence Research Network, and received a blackandwrite! fellowship from the State Library of Queensland.