Member Login

Shaded sand dune with footprints. Blue sky with wispy white cloud

Calling all wordsmiths and story-tellers!

Hunter Writers’ Centre is pleased to announce the 2023 Newcastle Short Story Award is now open for submissions.

With a first prize of $3,000, the Newcastle Short Story Award has gained recognition as one of Australia’s premier short story competitions, attracting high-calibre writers and esteemed judges.

The Newcastle Short Story Award is a project of the Hunter Writers’ Centre and is generously supported by the University of Newcastle.

Submissions to the 2023 Newcastle Short Story Award are now closed.

Submissions open Monday 4th September, and close on Friday 20 October 2023 at 11:59pm

– First Prize: $3,000
– Second Prize: $1,000
– Third Prize: $500
– Highly Commended: $200

In addition to the cash prizes listed above, if you are selected for inclusion in the Newcastle Short Story Award anthology AND you are a Hunter Region LGA resident you are eligible to win one of the Local Awards to be announced shortly.

If you’re an Australian resident or citizen aged 18 years and above, you’re eligible to enter.

Works of fiction up to 2,000 words. This includes titles and sub-titles.


The Newcastle Short Story Award is open for entries from Monday 4 September 2023 and close on Friday 20 October 2023 at 11:59pm.

  1. IMPORTANT: Read carefully the Terms and Conditions of Entry, and the Frequently Asked Questions.
  2. Fill out the submission form below, and upload your entries. We only accept Word document (.doc, docx). There is no limit on the number of entries, however a separate entry form is required for each entry.
  3. Please ensure the uploaded filename is the name of your entered story.
  4. Pay entry fees. Entry fees are $16.50 per entry ($16.00 + $1.50 GST). 
  5. You will receive a confirmation email with an overview of your entry form. If you have not received this, please check your spam folder as it may be hiding there. If you have still not received it, contact the Hunter Writers Centre


Not mandatory, but it would be fantastic if you could:

  1. Like the Hunter Writers Centre’ on Facebook and/or Instagram
  2. Please share the competition through your social pages and networks. We appreciate it!

If you have any further questions, please contact us on info(@) 


  • Submissions open Monday 4 September 2023
  • Submissions close: 11:59pm, Friday 20 October 2023
  • Shortlist announced: Early December
  • Winners announced and 2023 Newcastle Short Story Award Anthology released: 30 January 2024


2023 Newcastle Short Story Award Judge Angela Meyer

Angela Meyer

Winnie Dunn by Tyler Aves Square

Winnie Dunn

Angela Meyer is a writer, editor and teacher. Her debut novel, A Superior Spectre, was shortlisted for an Aurealis Award, the MUD Literary Prize, an Australian Book Industry Award, the Readings Prize for New Australian Writing and a Saltire Literary Society Award (Scotland). She is also the author of a novella, Joan Smokes, which won the inaugural Mslexia Novella Award (UK), and a book of flash fiction, Captives. Her second novel, Moon Sugar, was released in October 2022. Her work has been widely published in magazines, journals and newspapers, including Island, The Big Issue, Best Australian Stories and Kill Your Darlings. She has worked in bookstores, as a book reviewer, in a whisky bar, as an editor and publisher, and is now a lecturer in the Master of Writing and Publishing at RMIT.

Twitter @ LiteraryMinded
Instagram @ literaryminded
Facebook @ LiteraryMindedblog

Winnie Dunn is the General Manager of Sweatshop Literacy Movement and the editor of several critically acclaimed anthologies, including Another Australia (Affirm Press, 2022). She is a writer of Tongan descent from Mount Druitt and holds a Bachelor of Arts degree from Western Sydney University. Her work has been published in The Guardian, HuffPost Australia, Griffith Review, Meanjin and SBS Voices. In 2022, she was a finalist for Western Sydney University’s Breakthrough Alumni Award. Winnie is currently completing her debut novel, Dirt Poor Islanders (Hachette, 2024), which has been assisted by the Australia Council for the Arts.

Submissions are now closed.